trouble with ddk and bootloader command line

General discussions about V-USB, our firmware-only implementation of a low speed USB device on Atmel's AVR microcontrollers
Post Reply
ulao
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 481
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:45 pm

trouble with ddk and bootloader command line

Post by ulao » Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:49 am

Hi, I'm trying to compile the bootloaderHid's command line tool (BootloadHID.exe) and seem to be missing some information. I tried to download ddk 7 and I see its not the same as the ddk that was used. files are moved, and identifiers are missing. Is there any information out there on how to build the bootlaoder commandline in visual studio?

maxi
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: trouble with ddk and bootloader command line

Post by maxi » Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:45 pm

Don't know if it's any help but I just tried it with WDK and it compiled ok for me using VC2005. The setup used was much the same as I describe for the hid-data example in this post:

http://forums.obdev.at/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=3388

christian
Objective Development
Objective Development
Posts: 1443
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:46 am

Re: trouble with ddk and bootloader command line

Post by christian » Sun Oct 25, 2009 11:05 pm

I've never tried the Microsoft DDK, only MinGW wich comes with a DDK compatible set of libraries. This worked for me.

ulao
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 481
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:45 pm

Re: trouble with ddk and bootloader command line

Post by ulao » Sun Oct 25, 2009 11:53 pm

Ya sure did in a round about way.. I have never had so much trouble getting an app to compile before. I had to make a lot of edits and move a lot of libs and h files around. Just played the game of try this h file or that one. once it compiled I was on to the linker stuff. and your suggests helped there. The fun part was not knowing what lib files it wanted, and only had, oh 400 or so to choose from. So I added them all with some copy paste trickery. Then I had to remove the ones complaining that they are reusing names already used be another lib. And the msvcrt.lib was corrupt so I used my VC version. lots of fun but it working..

Post Reply