Still "Template"?

General discussions about V-USB, our firmware-only implementation of a low speed USB device on Atmel's AVR microcontrollers
Maverick

Still "Template"?

Post by Maverick » Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:26 pm

Hello!

I'm experimenting with V-USB as replacement electronics for my Medion-SteeringWheel (which is a peace of crap and also not running on vista with original electronics.. Sorry, just had to tell that ;) ).
I've changed the "USB_CFG_VENDOR_NAME" and DEVICE_NAME in usbconfig to my own and adapted length constants, still when i connect the device it says "Template" in the game controllers list. What could I have missed?

christian
Objective Development
Objective Development

Re: Still "Template"?

Post by christian » Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:35 pm

Windows may have cached this info for your VID/PID pair. You can somehow flush that cache, but I'm not a Windows expert.

Grendel
Rank 4
Rank 4

Post by Grendel » Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:35 am

Yea, Windows will read the name only once -- the first time it sees a new device. It then stores it in the registry and will use that name afterwards. To fix it: While the device is connected, go to the device manager --> Human Interface Devices. Find the HID-Compliant game controller entry (check the VID/PID in the Properties/Details tab), right click the entry and Uninstall it. Disconnect and reconnect the device, it should now come up w/ the correct name.

christian
Objective Development
Objective Development

Post by christian » Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:44 am

Is this new behavior in XP? If Windows caches the vendor and product string, our shared PID won't work. This used to work when I tested it...

Or do we still read the correct name if we use libusb? Or the method used to find HIDs?

Grendel
Rank 4
Rank 4

Post by Grendel » Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:54 am