Continously sampling via ADC, how to start

General discussions about V-USB, our firmware-only implementation of a low speed USB device on Atmel's AVR microcontrollers
roger

Continously sampling via ADC, how to start

Post by roger » Wed Dec 24, 2008 9:02 pm

Hi,

I'm new to USB programming and would like some advice on how I should proceed.

I'm trying to write a program that will continuously (and preferably uniformly) sample a voltage via the integrated ADC on an AVR, and send the values over USB. I'll either use an ADC resolution of 8 or 10 bits and I'd like to sample as fast as possible, but at least 1 kHz. Is this even possible with the 16.5 MHz RC oscillator code (I could also use a 20 MHz crystal)?

I'm still a bit confused by "end points" and "device classes", will endpoint 0 be suitable or will I need another one? I'd like to be able to control the device as well, so the communication should be two way.

I noticed that the driver needs to be polled often via usbPoll(). How long does this function take to process and how frequently should it be called? Can I just set it up on a timer and then just ignore it?

Thanks,
Roger

roger

Post by roger » Mon Dec 29, 2008 9:50 pm

I've made some progress and have something that works, but I still need to work out the best way to send the ADC output back to the host. So far I've only tried the default control endpoint, and I can get about 300 bytes/s sending back the ADC contents when requested by the host. FYI the code is something like this:

Code: Select all

switch(rq->bRequest)
   {
       case CMD_ADC_READ:         
         usbMsgPtr = (uchar *)&ADC;

return 2;

where the ADC is in free running mode (with no interrupts).

I've also played with sending 254 bytes at a time with usbFunctionRead() using dummy data, and I get much better performance (>7 kbytes/s, more than I need).

I still have my original problem though, how can I send the ADC output back to the host with the highest sample rate?