Noob needing compile help

General discussions about V-USB, our firmware-only implementation of a low speed USB device on Atmel's AVR microcontrollers
BackWoodsBrewer

Noob needing compile help

Post by BackWoodsBrewer » Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:41 pm

Hi all, I've been learning about AVR's and having a lot of fun with them, however I am very new to C++ and having a time getting any of the example projects to build. I've edited the Makefile as recommended (I think). When using AVR Studio 4 I just cannot get it to build. Here's what I've been trying:

1) set project to use external makefile
2) adding external paths, headers, libraries, kitchen sinks to the project properties option
3) searching google and staring at screen hoping it will help some (no avail)

If anyone could help me get setup to do a successful build I'd die a very happy man :D

Thanks for your time!

maxi
Rank 3
Rank 3

Re: Noob needing compile help

Post by maxi » Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:31 am

BackWoodsBrewer wrote:I just cannot get it to build.

What error messages did you get?

BackWoodsBrewer

Post by BackWoodsBrewer » Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:43 am

maxi wrote:
BackWoodsBrewer wrote:I just cannot get it to build.

What error messages did you get?

Well, all sorts just depending on how I setup the project, so first thing I need to know is how to create a new project "correctly".

When I use the project wizard, it will create a new directory with the name of the project. So if I try to make it in the "hid-mouse\firmware" directory I'll have something like hid-mouse\firmware\myproject". The makefile looks like it goes up three directories then copies the usbdrv folder to the working directory. I have tried making sure my project folder is three levels deep from the vusb folder or changing the makefile to go up four folders in such a case. I can copy the contents of the usbdrv folder to the project directory and it will compile, just not build.