WebYep and TinyMCE from a newbie

General discussions about WebYep
Rita M

WebYep and TinyMCE from a newbie

Post by Rita M » Thu Jan 15, 2009 3:46 pm

Okay, I've dug through the boards, the FAQ, and I still can't quite "get" it all. Please bear with me as I'm an intermediate HTML coder using Dreamweaver (I use it to edit code, not just the WYSIWYG design-view version!)

I'm trying to integrate TinyMCE with WebYep. I successfully set up and used WebYep, but I need RTF capabilities so the client editing the website can include bulleted and numbered lists, make things bold, add links, etc without having to know HTML.

I downloaded the files for TinyMCE and put them where they need to be, *according to the documentation for WebYep* which states:

>>"Download and extract the package archive (ZIP or TAR) an extract it. When extracting the TinyMCE package you should get a folder named "tinymce".... Place that folder into the "opt" subfolder of the webyep-system/program directory on the web server. The next time you open the Rich Text Editor Window in the browser, WebYep will use that WYSIWYG HTML editor."<<

These instructions make it sound as simple as download, extract, upload to the server, and you're good to go, but it's not working for me - I get no RTF controls for the editable content through the browser after logging in as an editor.

What the heck am I missing?! I've played with some of TineMCE.init code, but it seems just out of my grasp as an HTML-only programmer.

FYI I'm using Dreamweaver 8 on a Mac OS 10.4.11, testing in Firefox 3.0.5. Test server is a Mac XServer.

Thank you so much for reading this far!
-Rita

Max
Rank 4
Rank 4

Re: WebYep and TinyMCE from a newbie

Post by Max » Thu Jan 15, 2009 7:38 pm

Rita M wrote:Okay, I've dug through the boards, the FAQ, and I still can't quite "get" it all. Please bear with me as I'm an intermediate HTML coder using Dreamweaver (I use it to edit code, not just the WYSIWYG design-view version!)