Run Ruby Script in Terminal

General discussions about LaunchBar
Post Reply
beerich
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:05 am
Location: Toronto

Run Ruby Script in Terminal

Post by beerich » Thu Aug 20, 2015 2:50 am

Hi folks.

I am back, wondering if I'm missing something. Is there a way I can run ruby scripts in the terminal, called in Launchbar? The only way I can see it is to write an applescript to get iterm2 to run the script. That seems like a bit much for a tool like Launchbar.

Any advice appreciated.

Cheers

davemee
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:22 pm

Re: Run Ruby Script in Terminal

Post by davemee » Thu Aug 27, 2015 4:19 pm

Have you checked out the new action editor ( ⌘⌥E , I believe )? It makes this kind of thing very easy. If you bring it up, click the "+" in the bottom left to create a new script, then hop over to the 'scripts' tab, you can specify a language for your script and edit in inline - you may want to set up a Ruby launch wrapper to fire off the script. You can make it

I think the choice of terminal to use will come from your LB settings.

HTH!

beerich
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:05 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Run Ruby Script in Terminal

Post by beerich » Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:29 am

No I have not. Seems like it's what I need. I've written a custom action before this tool, so it is appearing there.

Thanks

Post Reply