Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

General discussions about LaunchBar
jonathanpglick
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 7:52 pm

Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by jonathanpglick » Thu Jun 28, 2012 8:04 pm

I was thrilled to hear that LaunchBar was getting 1Password support! Thanks for getting on that!

In my development workflow I often have to copy & paste passwords or other 1Password information. Is there a way to access/copy 1Password data through LaunchBar? It seems like all I can do is pick a "go-to-and-log-in" item right now.

stef79
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:56 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by stef79 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:58 pm

Bump.
I would like to know this to. I want to quickly copy a password into my clipboard.

sjk
Wizard
Wizard
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 9:46 pm
Location: Eugene
Contact:

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by sjk » Fri Apr 12, 2013 12:59 am

It may not be possible for LB to access specific fields of 1P entries, but if it is being able to copy at least the password would be handy.

stef79
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:56 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by stef79 » Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:42 am

Yes indeed, I would like to be able to copy the password. Can this be implemented?
Now I still need to open the 1password application and digg up the password and copy it to clipboard. Would be handy if we could do this from within LB.
That would be an awesome feature!

ptim
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:33 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by ptim » Tue Oct 22, 2013 1:19 pm

this is killing me! worked flawlessly in 1pw3.. I've got
'enable 3rd party app integration' enabled
and 'clear clipboard contents after x seconds' disable in 1pw.

looking all over for solutions.. tx

ptim
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:33 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by ptim » Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:22 am

Haven't received amore than an auto responder from my bug report... here it is again:

Topic: Bug Report
Launchbar version: 5.6.1
1PW version: 4.0.2
OperatingSystem: 10.8.5
CPU: 2.7Ghz Intel Core i7, 16gb RAM, SSD

Please enter your message here:

Can't Copy / use clipboard with 1password4.

Steps to repeat:

* view a 1pw entry (in the app, or mini)
* click 'copy' on a field
* show LB clipboard
* (no text was copied)

What I expect:

* a pw on the clipboard


If I edit the 1pw field, I can highlight and copy the PW successfully. (this is not possible using mini)


@ obdev: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?
@ agile: Clipboard Manager (CopyPastePro) doesn't copy after recent 1password4 beta update (relates to 1password)

In LB preferences, I have the 'ignore applications' box unchecked.
In 1PW prefs, I have 'clear the clipboard contents after' unchecked.

So, I guess this is a 1pw issue, but I'm sending it to both.

ptim
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:33 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by ptim » Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:24 am

further to that: if I Quit LB, then I can copy to the clipboard. (but I'm back in primitive land with only one clipping!)
Maybe it's not 1pw...

Would appreciate a response from staff, please

mcheck
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by mcheck » Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:29 pm

LaunchBar does not prevent copying to the clipboard when the 1Password field is edited (being edited). So something that 1Password is doing, perhaps for 'security' is blocking LaunchBar's typical access to the copied text. 1Password (and mini) makes the fields (not just passwords) into clickable actions - one of which is to place the data on the pasteboard. It is that action that does not work. Whatever lib they are using to pass the information via that actionable click does not operate the same way as simply selecting the text and Edit > Copy

Something has been built into 1Password that prevents the information from moving into the pasteboard in an interpretable manner. It may be because they are using their own pasteboard type: Here is a Agile discussion board topic on it.

http://discussions.agilebits.com/discus ... -update/p1

Seems many people are having trouble with this, not just those with LaunchBar's Clipboard manager.

Can anyone with ObDev confirm this is happening? Or if there is something else we can do to determine where the issue is?

ptim
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:33 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by ptim » Wed Nov 06, 2013 11:26 am

I'd love to hear from OD on this subject - I filed a bug report quite a while ago and have had no reply, and I'm not aware of any OD techs posting in the linked AgileBits thread, or making any public statement about this. As it stands, one of my solutions is to quit LB in order to use my clipboard.

That should be of concern to the business, surely!?

ptim
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:33 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by ptim » Wed Nov 06, 2013 1:06 pm

AFAIK yes LaunchBar should be working. I did down load 5.5.3 and I was also unable to get selections of copied items in LaunchBar from 1Password.

Edit : The clip board is working in Alfred, completely.
http://discussions.agilebits.com/discus ... ment_89144

(I am memeLab over there, BTW)

ptim
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:33 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by ptim » Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:55 am

any movement here? this is still an issue with 1pw 4.0.9 and LB 5.6.1

Could staff please acknowledge the issue?

ptim
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:33 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by ptim » Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:00 am

I apologise - I have missed an email from Simon from a week ago:

On 30/10/2013, at 12:41 AM, launchbar@obdev.at wrote:

We in fact hardcoded 1PW on an exclude list for the LB Clipboard.
Its still present in the systems clipboard though.

I will talk to our developers, if we can think of a more flexible solution.

Best regards,
Simon

mcheck
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by mcheck » Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:40 pm

Thanks for posting this @ptim

If Simon (or someone else knowledgable on the subject) is on the forum, I'd like to know why it was hardcoded into LB to ignore pasteboard calls from 1Password 4 but not 1Password 3? I would imagine there is a reason, I'd just like to know what is behind it. It seems odd to prevent info coming from one version of an application, but not the other.

kastorff
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 5:58 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by kastorff » Sat Nov 09, 2013 11:44 pm

One of the common workflow scenarios for me is using 1Password and Launchbar together for copying and pasting multiple pieces of information. I'd like to have the option of enabling/disabling this restriction.

jdc9750
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2013 6:05 pm

Re: Copy 1Password content from LaunchBar?

Post by jdc9750 » Wed Nov 13, 2013 6:12 pm

I have brought this issue up with the 1P people. They say it is your issue. It is certainly MY issue. I bought LB because it was recommended by the 1P people. I use the copy paste feature of LB as a natural part of my workflow. The copy/paste feature worked well with 1P3. I upgraded to 1P4 and now it doesnt work. I see that this has been a problem for a while. Please fix it or explain why you or they disabled it.

Post Reply