Time zone

General discussions about LaunchBar
Post Reply
brenno
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:47 pm

Time zone

Post by brenno » Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:54 pm

Hi,

Can anyone suggest how to setup LB to display a list of preset time zones? Can't tell you how many times I go to a website for this information.

I know this is a little outside LBs objectives but does anyone else believe this is a worthwhile feature to add to a future release?

First post btw and I love this software. As a keyboard junkie, this thing rocks!!!

Mousetime = downtime

brenno

jordi
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:43 pm

Re: Time zone

Post by jordi » Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:39 pm

I've written 2 very simple scripts to switch between NL and UK timezones. That's probably not what you're looking for but convenient for regular travelers nonetheless :-) Just change the code to the correct timezones. It assumes growl to be installed for notification.

Code: Select all

do shell script "/usr/sbin/systemsetup -settimezone Europe/Amsterdam"
do shell script "/usr/local/bin/growlnotify -m \"Timezone set to AMSTERDAM\" -t \"Timezone\" -a \"System Preferences\""


Code: Select all

do shell script "/usr/sbin/systemsetup -settimezone Europe/London"
do shell script "/usr/local/bin/growlnotify -m \"Timezone set to LONDON\" -t \"Timezone\" -a \"System Preferences\""


Save as applescripts TZ UK and TZ NL or something and call from within launchbar.

brenno
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:47 pm

Re: Time zone

Post by brenno » Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:53 am

Thanks but I am looking for something more along the lines of the iStat Menus world clock. Of course, I do not need it to be pretty. Happy enough if every time zone I need to check can be chosen to appear in the drop-down list. Preferably, I could choose the time zone by city. Both city and time would appear together.

Anybody??

Post Reply