Launching New iCal Event Script

General discussions about LaunchBar
chum

Post by chum » Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:11 pm

Greetings!

I'm new to LaunchBar and the forum.

I've created the iCal New Event/To Do automator workflow as described at http://www.macworld.com/article/132889/ ... vents.html
but haven't been able to figure out how to assign a keyboard shortcut/use LaunchBar to start this workflow with a couple of keystrokes.

I've surveyed the LB help menu, but can't seem to find an answer. I'm sure it's there, but I just can't see it.

Any help would be appreciated.

Merry Christmas!

Chum

Dennis
Rank 3
Rank 3

Post by Dennis » Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:33 am

LaunchBar doesn't currently support assigning keyboard shortcuts to items. LaunchBar's focus is on abbreviation searches: invoke LaunchBar, type in an abbreviation, and so on.

You can, however, assign a single-character abbreviation to an item so you could invoke LaunchBar and then hit that single character (e.g. Command-Space followed by "e" for event or whatever you like).

As an aside, I personally prefer LaunchBar's abbreviation approach over assigning specific keyboard shortcuts. Frankly, I already have too many keyboard shortcuts to remember. With LaunchBar, I only have to remember one more keyboard shortcut: Command-Space.

-Dennis

chum

Can't Assign Abbreviation

Post by chum » Tue Dec 23, 2008 4:16 am

Hi and thanks for your reply.

Ive attempted to assign an abbreviation to start the automator workflow, but I keep receiving the LaunchBar error: Can't Assign Abbreviation: The selected item is not part of your LaunchBar index, therefore it can't be selected via abbreviation search.

So, I forced LB to re-index everything but keep getting the same error.

BTW, the file itself is named Create iCalEvents.app

Thanks again for your help.

Chum

Kenha

Post by Kenha » Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:02 am

Hi,

I use this app many times daily and have been able to assign the abbriviation, EV, to it.