Firefox 3 Bookmark support

General discussions about LaunchBar
Sieges
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 12:44 pm
Location: Norway

Firefox 3 Bookmark support

Postby Sieges » Thu Apr 17, 2008 11:21 am

Even though Firefox 3 is still in beta, it seems like Firefox has a new system for bookmark storage. I can't get Launch Bar to read the Firefox 3 bookmarks, as they are no longer stored in a HTML file. You can export you bookmaks to an HTML file, so that Launch Bar can read it, but exporting your bookmarks every time you make a change is a pain. Anyone know of some other workaround and if Firefox 3 support will implemented in a future release of Launch Bar?

ahelix
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:46 pm

Postby ahelix » Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:48 pm

yeah, i'm having the same issue. as firefox 3 is really one of the best browsers on os x now, it'd be great to have it supported even though it's in beta.

rhywun
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:06 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Postby rhywun » Wed May 21, 2008 1:17 am

Same here - I thought I was going nuts. Well Firefox is at RC1 now - hopefully LaunchBar support will come soon.

SteveJam
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 6:50 am

Any news on Firefox 3 support

Postby SteveJam » Sun Jun 22, 2008 6:53 am

Anyone have any news or timelines on support for FF3? Would be wonderful.

Steve J

shopgirl
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:26 pm

Postby shopgirl » Sun Jun 22, 2008 2:23 pm

Same thing here. All I get are the default bookmarks provided by Mozilla. I emailed support but haven't received an answer. Perhaps that's the best way to get the developers' attentions.

http://www.obdev.at/contact/

kastorff
Rank 1
Rank 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 5:58 pm

Postby kastorff » Wed Jul 09, 2008 5:10 pm

It's definitely time for a minor update to support FF 3. :)

ludwigschubert
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:54 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria

Postby ludwigschubert » Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:59 pm

It's definitely time for a major update with tons of new features :wink:

Totally agree with you, though. 8)

korpios
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:19 pm
Location: Oak Park, IL, US
Contact:

Postby korpios » Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:31 pm

Firefox 3's history is also stored in the new binary format (sqlite databases). Since sqlite itself is in the public domain, there should hopefully be no obstacle in incorporating support into LaunchBar. It's definitely been hard having to split my "bar" usage between LaunchBar and the FF3 "awesome bar". :-/

ecormany
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 4:46 pm

Postby ecormany » Mon Jul 14, 2008 7:50 pm

yeah it's definitely not "awesome." FF3 has been out for almost a month now. i'm seriously disappointed if this isn't being worked on.

FredSmith
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:12 am

Postby FredSmith » Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:31 am

ecormany wrote:yeah it's definitely not "awesome." FF3 has been out for almost a month now. i'm seriously disappointed if this isn't being worked on.


I'm sure that they're working on it ... quietly ... :)

ludwigschubert
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:54 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria

Postby ludwigschubert » Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:45 am

You all know that for the time being you can export your bookmarks to a HTML file and have LaunchBar index that, right?

ecormany
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 4:46 pm

Postby ecormany » Sun Jul 20, 2008 4:57 pm

yes, that's a good workaround for bookmarks, but it's not practical for history.

JC
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 12:57 pm

Postby JC » Tue Aug 05, 2008 2:50 am

Could someone explain how to index your firefox 3 bookmarks?

I put it under custom lists and have it clicked for index, rescanned, but after wards I still can't access any of the bookmarks

Cheers

ludwigschubert
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:54 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria

Postby ludwigschubert » Tue Aug 05, 2008 1:17 pm

JC, you don't put the exported HTML file in a custom list (that would index the file only), but as a custom HTML bookmarks file:
New > Web Browser Bookmarks > Custom HTML Bookmarks File…

See the screenshot for reference:

Image
Fullsize here.

I hope that solved you problem. If you need to "refresh" your bookmarks file, just overwrite the old one when exporting and LaunchBar will index the new one.

regards, L

JC
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 12:57 pm

Postby JC » Tue Aug 05, 2008 2:43 pm

Perfect! Thanks L!


Return to “LaunchBar General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest