Shorcuts problems

General discussions about LaunchBar
Post Reply
xem
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 2:13 pm

Shorcuts problems

Post by xem » Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:24 am

hi,
i've downloaded LB on a trial basis and checked both your manual and the forum but couldn't find any answer to my simple problem (my system is Leopard 10.5.2):

i need to work with 2 keyboard layouts

the problem is:
- LB uses CMD-Space
- Spotlight's window uses Option-CMD-Space

i am therefore left with NO shortcut for switching keyboard layouts

the only temporary workaround i can think of is to use Option-CMD-Space for switching keyboard. then, i invoke LB and type CMD-F and ENTER in order to have Spotlight's window open.

ps: i am now editing this post to admit this solution seems fairly good me.

but, if somebody has a better idea, please let me know

thanks

FredB
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:19 am
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Post by FredB » Wed Feb 20, 2008 4:47 am

Sorry if I don't understand but you have a lot of options:
  • Change Spotlight shortcuts.
  • Change the Input Menu shortcut.
(Both can be changed in System Preferences -> Keyboard & Mouse -> Keyboard Shortcuts)
  • Change LB shortcut (there are 7 choices), open LB and type " + ," to open the preferences.

xem
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 2:13 pm

Post by xem » Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:26 pm

ok, thanks, i'll see what best suits my needs

what i meant was that mac os x preference panes (both international and keyboard shortcuts panes) do not offer many choices

but fortunately this can be overcome by setting our keyboard shortcut preferences in LB preferences' pane itself

note: i already purchased LB, i got stunned by its amazing features :D (which i do not fully master yet, of course)

FredB
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 8:19 am
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Post by FredB » Wed Feb 20, 2008 7:20 pm

xem wrote:ok, thanks, i'll see what best suits my needs
what i meant was that mac os x preference panes (both international and keyboard shortcuts panes) do not offer many choices


You're welcome.

What do you mean by "do not offer many choices"?
In keyboard shortcuts pane, you can use any shortcut that suits you and is not conflicting with something else...
Just double click the current shortcut and type something else.

xem
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 2:13 pm

Post by xem » Thu Feb 21, 2008 8:06 pm

FredB wrote:What do you mean by "do not offer many choices"?
In keyboard shortcuts pane, you can use any shortcut that suits you and is not conflicting with something else...
Just double click the current shortcut and type something else.


Hi,
thanks for the tip, i didn't know it (i've been a switcher for 9 months now 8) )

in an earlier post you wrote there are 7 choices for shortcuts in LB preferences. you probably refer to the "control key navigation", right?

i entered "control key navigation" in LB help searchfield but it kept turning over & over again without retrieving any result. please, what is this about?

ludwigschubert
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:54 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria

Post by ludwigschubert » Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:15 pm

Hi xem!

What Fred was talking about was that there are literally seven shortcuts you can choose from for activating LaunchBar:

Image

See, seven all in all. :D

The "Control Key Navigation" let's you emulate the arrow keys in LaunchBar via control + hjkl - it's probably thought for ten-finger-typers who are faster on those keys than on arrow keys - but I don't really think it's useful for most people.

As for a wider range of LaunchBar-activating shortcuts, Objective Development promised there will be QuickSilver-like invoking via
"a short tap on a modifier key such as Command or Control" in the 4.4 update.

yours,
Ludwig

xem
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 2:13 pm

Post by xem » Fri Feb 22, 2008 12:31 am

thanks very much Ludwig for the precious piece of info :D :D

i am liking LB more 'n more :wink:

norbert
Objective Development
Objective Development
Posts: 648
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 6:30 pm

Post by norbert » Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:21 pm

Yes, in LaunchBar 4.4 the hotkey will be freely customizable (instead of the fixed list), and there will be an additional option to activate LaunchBar by single or double tapping a modifier key.

ludwigschubert
Rank 4
Rank 4
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:54 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria

Post by ludwigschubert » Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:52 am

Yes!!! :D

Now only tell us when it will be available… please :wink:

Looking forward to it,
Ludwig

Post Reply