Stupid Question...But Vital!

Sharing and discussing custom actions for LaunchBar
rpminjax

Stupid Question...But Vital!

Postby rpminjax » Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:46 pm

I've been using LaunchBar for several years, and absolutely love the convenience it provides...that is, when I can make it do what I want. Unfortunately, that doesn't happen with any consistency. (Maybe it's because I'm 80 years old?)

I'd be grateful if someone would give me a simple, step-by-step method for applying a custom abbreviation for a particular webpage I am on. Should be easy, right? But I sometimes spend a lot of time scrolling down through endless lists of *possible* hits after I deceive myself into thinking I set it up properly.

Enough whining. I'll shut up and wait for your "Step 1, Step 2" response. TIA!!!

davemee
Rank 1
Rank 1

Re: Stupid Question...But Vital!

Postby davemee » Wed Jan 03, 2018 9:48 am

① Bring the item you want up in LaunchBar, by typing a few characters and using the cursor keys to highlight it in the list as you normally do (I type 'sabo' to bring up my Safari Bookmarks and browse from there)
② Press ⌥⌘A and type the abbreviation you want for it
③ Press ↩ to save the abbreviation

Don't forget the really useful shortcuts in LaunchBar - ⌘B to bring up a list of recent items you've used in LaunchBar, ⌘K to view your clipboard history, and ⌘G to make LaunchBar select whatever you have selected in Finder.

Happy new (solar) year!

rpminjax

Postby rpminjax » Wed Jan 03, 2018 3:26 pm

Thank you for responding, Dave, but apparently my question wasn't clear. I want to know how to assign a LaunchBar abbreviation to a website when I am on that website. For example, now I am at <https://forums.obdev.at/posting.php?mode=reply&f=24&t=11178> and I want to set an abbreviation so that I can easily return to this page. What steps do I take to accomplish that?

Greg Jones
Rank 3
Rank 3

Postby Greg Jones » Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:22 pm