Another profiles Q: creating a deny all rule ...

General discussions about Little Snitch
keep-em-out

Another profiles Q: creating a deny all rule ...

Postby keep-em-out » Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:20 pm

All-

I am somewhat new to LS but have been reading up on the forums here to get familiar with the functionality. Like others, I want to create a set of profiles to apply based on the networks I am connecting to. Something like:

- Trusted (home network, etc.)
- Untrusted (public wifi, hotel wifi, etc.)
- Semi Trusted (office network, etc.)

I have read the following articles, which helped, but still left me with questions:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9598
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=8844

The main question I have is how to create some kind of 'default deny' rule for untrusted connections. For example, the logic might flow like this:

- If the traffic is VPN related, allow
- If the traffic is Captive Portal, allow
- If the traffic is DNS (UDP), allow
- Everything else, block

From what I can tell there really isn't a 'default deny' rule that will block everything except those rules which have been set to allow traffic to exit the system. I have to connect my machine to the untrusted network and let it sit for a while until OS X triggers every daemon and protocol that tries to connect to the Internet and then I manually deny each one. Anyone know of a shortcut here?

Cheers.

hagen
Wizard
Wizard

Re: Another profiles Q: creating a deny all rule ...

Postby hagen » Fri Jun 19, 2015 6:15 am

keep-em-out wrote:From what I can tell there really isn't a 'default deny' rule that will block everything except those rules which have been set to allow traffic to exit the system. I have to connect my machine to the untrusted network and let it sit for a while until OS X triggers every daemon and protocol that tries to connect to the Internet and then I manually deny each one. Anyone know of a shortcut here?