LiitleSnitch CrashPlan conflict?

General discussions about Little Snitch
Post Reply
cortig
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:35 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Contact:

LiitleSnitch CrashPlan conflict?

Post by cortig » Thu May 28, 2015 5:03 am

Hi All,

I have CrashPlan on my Mac and noticed that it systematically failed to establish a computer to computer connection (connecting to the CrashPlan server itself works though).
    • The rules are set to allow the app to communicate over port 4242.
    • If I connect through VPN, I can establish the connection.
    • Disabling the Network Filter in Little Snitch doesn't help, but completely uninstalling the app does!
    • With the Little Snitch uninstalled from my mac, I have no problem connecting…

Any suggestion? That sounds like a conflict of some sort to me and I really don't see what else I could try to get the two apps to properly work together.


Corentin

Code: Select all

Model: iMac13,1
OS Version: OS X 10.10.3 (14D136)
Processor: 3.1 GHz Intel Core i7
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 512 MB
Memory: 16 GB

CrashPlan 4.2.0
Little Snitch 3.5.3

cortig
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:35 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: LiitleSnitch CrashPlan conflict?

Post by cortig » Wed Jun 03, 2015 7:30 pm

I tried to chat with the CrashPlan folks and they unfortunately didn't have any workaround for me :(

Corentin

cortig
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:35 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: LiitleSnitch CrashPlan conflict?

Post by cortig » Tue Jun 09, 2015 10:16 pm

It doesn't look like the thread is generating much interest :-\ Am-I the only one with this problem? Other CrashPlan users don;t have any problem (or maybe few people use the Computer to Computer backup option).

Corentin

Medic427
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:02 am
Location: Northport, New York
Contact:

Re: LiitleSnitch CrashPlan conflict?

Post by Medic427 » Mon Jul 13, 2015 12:01 am

I have the same problem but also with Crashplan connections outgoing. I used to get amazing support from Crashplan but now it is like I can get nothing. It is like something is always being lost in translation. Can you please try and get a list at least of all the ports and rules that should be in effect for Crashplan to work effectively? Thanks, Rich :)

cortig
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:35 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: LiitleSnitch CrashPlan conflict?

Post by cortig » Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:39 am

I eventually got it to work, but to be totally honest, I'm not sure how.
I eliminated all traces of the Rules involving crash plan both on the sending and receiving Mac, then allowed the connections through the silent mode.
That created a temporary set of rules on both Mac. I approved them all and it's now working.
I'm not sure what could have been wrong before, but at least it's working (for me) now.

Corentin

Medic427
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:02 am
Location: Northport, New York
Contact:

Re: LiitleSnitch CrashPlan conflict?

Post by Medic427 » Sun Jul 26, 2015 6:01 pm

Do you perhaps remember going to reset Little Snitch back to a factory rule set? Did that help or was that what worked? Thanks.

cortig
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:35 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: LiitleSnitch CrashPlan conflict?

Post by cortig » Sun Jul 26, 2015 8:42 pm

I didn't reset to factory rules. That's for sure.
I deleted a number of rules though.


Corentin

Medic427
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:02 am
Location: Northport, New York
Contact:

Re: LiitleSnitch CrashPlan conflict?

Post by Medic427 » Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:06 am

Corentin can you please tell me which ones or you do not remember?

cortig
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:35 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: LiitleSnitch CrashPlan conflict?

Post by cortig » Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:17 am

I unfortunately don't remember which rules it was (that was almost 3 months ago…).


Corentin

Post Reply