Intego VirusBarrier X6

General discussions about Little Snitch
Post Reply
FillmoreSystems
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:38 am

Intego VirusBarrier X6

Post by FillmoreSystems » Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:45 am

Hi
Now that VirusBarrier X6 comes with an integrated firewall (No where as good a Little Snitch at APP level filtering). I would like to know if there is any conflict using Little Snitch and what if any special procedures are needed to Install Little Snitch on a system that has Virusbarrier X6 installed

rob_06
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: Intego VirusBarrier X6

Post by rob_06 » Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:14 am

I have Virusbarrier X6 install alongside Little Snitch 2.2.1 and both work as per normal together without any issues for me of any kind.

Little snitch does ask permission for the netupdate server from intego for updating the app and definitions as required this when allowed forever is not problem and works flawlessly thus far.

FillmoreSystems
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:38 am

Re: Intego VirusBarrier X6

Post by FillmoreSystems » Sun Feb 21, 2010 1:09 pm

Hi Rob,

Which did you install first X6 or Little Snitch

rob_06
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: Intego VirusBarrier X6

Post by rob_06 » Mon Feb 22, 2010 12:11 am

I have both Little Snitch and Virusbarrier X6 as with both I can tell when an app want to make a connection via LS and whether someone is trying to port scan or other things via VB X6.

I haven't seen any issues as I was previously running Netbarrier X5 with Little Snitch and no issues either.

mustbjones
Rank 2
Rank 2
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:42 pm

Re: Intego VirusBarrier X6

Post by mustbjones » Thu Mar 18, 2010 4:30 pm

When you run VirusBarrier X6 do you disable SnowLeopard's (or Leopard's) Firewall?

rob_06
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: Intego VirusBarrier X6

Post by rob_06 » Thu Mar 18, 2010 11:53 pm

I leave Snow Leopards built in firewall turned off whilst running Intego Virusbarrier X6

I don't have any issues by doing so.

rsblanchard
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:25 am

Re: Intego VirusBarrier X6

Post by rsblanchard » Sat Sep 03, 2011 10:54 am

After I updated to LS 2.4.2 with Intego's VirusBarrier X6 10.6.13 on Mac OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.8, I got a message from VirusBarrier saying "Don't change firewall" with no rules.
I changed it anyway by reverting to factory settings (with Preferences button), then re-importing the ruleset.
I have VirusBarrier X6's Anti-Spyware turned off.

Why did I get this message from VirusBarrier's Firewall ?

manfred
Objective Development
Objective Development
Posts: 561
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 9:47 am
Location: Vienna
Contact:

Re: Intego VirusBarrier X6

Post by manfred » Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:28 pm

rsblanchard wrote:Why did I get this message from VirusBarrier's Firewall ?

If this message was from VirusBarrier, I'm sure the guys from Intego can help you.

rob_06
Rank 3
Rank 3
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: Intego VirusBarrier X6

Post by rob_06 » Tue Sep 06, 2011 1:09 pm

Can you give a bit more info about what message virus barrier says. As I have seen a lot of different things when using it for several years now.
One other thing do you have under the Scan Settings tab / Real-Timer Scanner tab is Behavioral Analysis checked or unchecked as it can cause strange messages if checked.

I do beta testing for virusbarrier so can help you out if you would like.

Post Reply