Page 1 of 1

Can LS Use Block Lists?

Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 3:11 am
by docjynx
I am interested in using Little Snitch but would want to still be able to use block lists to avoid contact with many ip's. Here is where most people get the lists http://iblocklist.com/lists.php The lists are always updated so a script or plugin would have to be made I think? I dont know a way to setup the lists any help or ideas would be great I am sick of using NetBarrier and the modded NetBarrier Config File 2.0.1 from 2005

Thanks,

Doc

Re: Can LS Use Block Lists?

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:51 pm
by jEarlZ
This may be what you are looking for if you're not already familiar with the product:

http://phoenixlabs.org/pgosx/

Re: Can LS Use Block Lists?

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 4:55 pm
by paulc
Far as I know, PeerGuardian blocks attempts of outside servers to access your machine... LS blocks software on your machine from contacting outside servers.

Re: Can LS Use Block Lists?

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:13 am
by Tylast
Regardless, I'd like this feature too. The ability to stop the packets in/outbound wouldn't be bad. An automated way of updating lists is needed & there is a place to obtain them: http://www.iblocklist.com/ We just need LS to be able to use that resource.

Re: Can LS Use Block Lists?

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 9:20 am
by delic
For those of us who don't have the time or tech knowledge to know what to block and what not to block, I believe a list that is built up by users plus explanation of what this or that application is for and what the consequences of blocking or not blocking them are. The More Info features tells us very little.

Re: Can LS Use Block Lists?

Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:23 pm
by manfred
Actually there is a way to add a list of IP-Addresses. If you create a new rule, select »IP Address« and paste a list of IP-Addresses (separated by space or comma) into it.

Re: Can LS Use Block Lists?

Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:52 pm
by ball
I would enjoy PG list support.

1) PG is cumbersome

2) PG can only block the entire machine from an IP range. It cannot differentiate between applications. I want to block some IPs from one app and some IPs from another.

3) Why should I have multiple IP blocking programs?

The best implementation would be a separate category after any, protocol (i.e. port), ip, and ip&port called "IP Range" then possibly another "IP Range&port". LS would load the IP ranges periodically and rules could be made using the new category just like with other categories like IPs.

Additionally, LS could be smart enough to detect if an application is making a new connection within a range and the rule hasn't been made yet (causing the popup window prompt). If the IP is within one (or more?) of the ranges, a 5th(/6th) option would be enabled: "Only IP Range AAA" or "Only IP Range AAA and port 1234 TCP (blah)." This last ability could be overkill. Personally, I would be delighted with IP Range support in the rules window!

PLEASE? :)

Re: Can LS Use Block Lists?

Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:56 pm
by ball
IP List would probably be a better term than IP Range as range may imply only one range of IPs.

Although honestly I don't care what you call it so long the feature is added :)